Beginner's questions

Discussion in 'MASCHINE Area' started by techno_albrecht, Dec 16, 2019.

1. techno_albrecht

techno_albrecht New Member

Hey,

I'm new to the Machine environment, but I do have some basic experiences with music production and Ableton. So right now, I'm trying to get used to the Machine software using the Machine Mikro Mk3, but I've got a couple of questions:

(1) How should I understand groups/scenes? I find it confusing that both make up the same "column" in the idea view of the arranger (like Scene 1 = Group A1). So let's say Scene 1/Group A1/column 1 would contain my drum patterns and Scene 2/Group B1/column 2 my bass pattern. When I put the Scenes in order to come up with the track structure (in the song view), Scene 1 (=the intro) suddenly has a pattern from Scene1/Group A1 (my drums) and Scene 2/Group B1 (my bass). So suddenly the Scene in the song view does not correspond any longer to the patterns the Scene contains in the idea view because the Scene 1 in the idea view only had drums patterns. Why is that so confusing? What do you even need Scenes in the idea view if you could simply order your patterns according to the groups? That is what puzzles me...

(2) I do not really understand the libraries. Like for example the Middle East library. I would expect to get some great drum samples (one shot samples). But when I open 2 - percussions, all I'm getting seems to be loops. When I load "Daf - Ayoub" (or any other sound from the percussion section of Middle East), I can't play it like a drum (I mean: a drum hit) via the pads (when activiating "keyboard" on my Mikro). When I press pads, all I'm getting are different kinds of rhytmic loops/fills/rolls of this drum sound, while I was expecting to play different notes of a single drum... Aren't there any simple drum samples/drum hits in those libraries? Why do these libraries only contain loops?

Thanks for any help!

2. techno_albrecht