1. Please do not install macOS 10.15 Catalina yet, as Native Instruments software and hardware products are not supported under macOS 10.15 yet. For more info, please go HERE!
    Dismiss Notice

Cubase Elements/Ableton 10 live lite

Discussion in 'Computer Technology and Setup' started by PandoraXplorer, Oct 7, 2019.

1. PandoraXplorer

PandoraXplorer New Member

Hello everyone. I hope someone patient can help me as I have spent countless frustrating hours trying to figure everything out to no avail.

I purchased an MK3 last year and more recently an S49 Mk2. I am very new to the world of DAWs and the midi world having only every used analogue stuff in the past that you simply plugged into an amp and it worked. :) The simpler the better! But I enjoy composing so a host sequencer is an essential thing.

I am looking for the easiest way to integrate my hardware into a DAW and have Cubase Elements LE AI 8 and Ableton live 10 lite. I thought either would have advanced host integration but am learning that is not the case? I can't even get the MK2 or MK3 browsers to come up in Ableton which I thought was now a feature and although I can get further in Cubase (having used it a bit longer and had a bit of success with an external synth in the past), I am struggling with the routing. If I make a track for the keyboard in Cubase and then a separate one for the Maschine MK3, they trigger at the same time despite giving them different midi channels...

I admit I'm late to the game in all this and find I use the Maschine software for most projects simply because it all works but it has it's limits ie doesn't offer a change in tempo etc. Can anyone perhaps tell me what I'm doing wrong in all this?

Many thanks!

2. Uwe303

Uwe303 NI Product Owner

Hello,