1. We're currently conducting systematic tests with the release version of macOS 11 (Big Sur) in order to offer full compatibility of our products as soon as possible. You can find our latest compatibility status - here

Please note that although announced at the same time as macOS Big Sur, Apple Silicon processors are an independent release with separate compatibility concerns for NI products. Compatibility with macOS Big Sur will not yet ensure compatibility with Apple Silicon processors. At the moment, Native Instruments products are not supported on computers with Apple Silicon processors. Read more - here

Dismiss Notice

Emulate an Ensoniq ESQ-1

Discussion in 'REAKTOR' started by myvryn, Sep 10, 2014.

1. myvryn

myvryn NI Product Owner

Hey there, I'm new to Reaktor, and I'm enjoying it's power and versatility so far. Back in the 80s and 90s I used to own an Ensoniq ESQ-1 and I absolutely loved it. I'm thinking about trying to recreate it using Reaktor.

Before I go through that work, however, I was wondering if anyone knows if an pre-build ensemble currently exists.

Thanks,
    Eddy

2. Big Gnome

Big Gnome NI Product Owner

The waves are nothing really special--just a bunch of 8-bit, single cycle waves. You can download them from the buchty site as raw data or AIFF (well...from the SQ-80 ROM, which contains all the same stuff, plus a few additional waves). I used to have a spreadsheet mapping out all the waves' positions across the keyboard, which I can no longer find; from what I recall, the waves all range from 256-4096(?) samples in length and are mapped in 8-note-long groups across midi notes 0-127--increasingly bandlimited samples are used in order to crudely mimic antialiasing. It would be really easy to design a wavetable oscillator in Reaktor to mimic the (E)SQ's pretty accurately (although probably not the best for a first project...)