1. Please do not install macOS 10.15 Catalina yet, as Native Instruments software and hardware products are not supported under macOS 10.15 yet. For more info, please go HERE!
    Dismiss Notice

general question about OMD Enola Gay drum programming

Discussion in 'MASCHINE Area' started by PB21, Jul 17, 2012.

1. PB21

PB21 NI Product Owner

I have a general question on use of the Maschine but not sure where to post in here as its not technical or sales related question.

2. Mr36

Mr36 NI Product Owner

You've started a thread here now, so you may as well go ahead and ask your question.

Plus, this is as good a place as any - probably the place to post it anyway.

Unless it's something answered by reading the manual... ;)

3. PB21

PB21 NI Product Owner

Ok I am not a musician in the sense like you lot its just a hobby but i do play the piano. I treated myself to some stuff an ultranova and a maschine and ableton etc.

I thought I would try and get used to the machine not by composing but by taking a track I already know, listening to it and see if i can replicated the patterns, tempo etc just to get used to using the maschine. I reckon its more powerful than those early 80s equipment.

I was listening to OMD and trying to replicate first the right sound lets say enola gay so I added the CR78 kit and I reckon it sounds right.

My question comes down to tempo i created 8 bar and added the hihat, then the snare I am on 16 steps

using the actual song and listening to the snare i tapped out the tempo and it came to about 71 so i made it 72 and then added closed hihat on every 16th and then the snare on 1 1.2 1.3 1.4 etc and if i played alongside it sounded ok.

The i found a site that shows the BPMs of songs only to discover that it says that the track is at 143 bpm.

so do i need to adjust the steps for this situation?