GR5 +RK3 how to change sounds without change preset?

Discussion in 'GUITAR RIG' started by grlover, Feb 4, 2018.

  1. grlover

    grlover New Member

    Messages:
    24
    hi evereybody!

    I have a big problem.
    I used the GR5 years ago to practice at home and record some demos

    I have been with Rig Kontrol 3

    I have the opportunity to play live with some friends so we will soon start rehearsing.

    I always had all my presets separately.

    Clean presets and dirty presets
    for different parts of various songs.

    The problem is the lag that exists between changing presets.
    It is impossible to play live in this way.

    I have tried different ways but I can not find the right way.

    How can I configure the GR and use the same preset for both parts?

    example.

    Clean sound Jump
    gain LOW
    master 6
    pre amp 5
    chorus
    delay
    studio reverb

    Dirt Sound Jump
    gain HI
    master 9
    pre amp 3

    no chorus
    no delay
    no reverb

    How i can package all the settings of each part to be exchanged using a single button of the RG3?

    its posible??

    I could do this using the containers???

    I have spent hours, days, weeks triying and I can not understand how the damn containers works ...


    Thank you very much and I await your answers ...


    edit.

    Can I control this menu from the RK3 ?? to change the modes clean/ crunch/ dirty ?

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Feb 4, 2018
  2. solger

    solger NI Product Owner

    Messages:
    3,874
    Have a look at using the Split Tool to switch between two different signal paths. And then mapping the Mix Slider to the RK3.

    Although the links are using GR4, it's the same for GR5:

    And you might also find some additional hints in this thread: https://www.native-instruments.com/forum/threads/anyone-using-guitar-rig-live-onstage.190887/

    If I remember correctly, that's not possible (since you can't MIDI map this control).
     
    Last edited: Feb 4, 2018
  3. grlover

    grlover New Member

    Messages:
    24
    wow1 easy...

    I use several presets with the split tool but never use it that way.
    great thank you very much solger!!!
     
  4. grlover

    grlover New Member

    Messages:
    24
    fnk sht!

    another problem....


    I dont know what happens ...
    try making a stereo preset
    clean sound comes out on the left and dirty on the right side and nothing.
    I use the panning knobs and nothing happens. both sounds come from the left side.
    when I move the crossfade to the the right it just stays mute.
    I can not get what is inside of the split b sounds on the right side :(
     
  5. EvilDragon

    EvilDragon Moderator Moderator

    Messages:
    14,982
    Panning via split module works fine here, so it might be you didn't set your audio outputs correctly, perhpas?
     
  6. solger

    solger NI Product Owner

    Messages:
    3,874
    Yeah, I would also suspect the audio output settings - might be the case that you only have the left output assigned/enabled.
     
  7. grlover

    grlover New Member

    Messages:
    24
    i really dont know

    [​IMG]
     
  8. solger

    solger NI Product Owner

    Messages:
    3,874
    OK, then does the Components order look like this (since I can't see this from the screenshot)?

    Split A
    Components for Clean Sound
    Split B
    Components for Dirty Sound
    Split Mix
     
  9. grlover

    grlover New Member

    Messages:
    24
    Thank you solger!!
    I already understood how to solve the problem of using the same preset for both sounds and how to change them.

    The problem that I just found is
    I can not achieve that what is in split A is heard on the left side
    and what is in split B is heard on the right side.

    something is wrong in my confuguration

    both sounds come from de L side
     
  10. solger

    solger NI Product Owner

    Messages:
    3,874
    Assuming the Components order is correct, do you perhaps have any panning going on in one of the Components?

    Otherwise it's difficult to give any additional hints without seeing how your current preset looks like, exactly.
    So can you please export/save your preset and attach it to a post (for instance in a .zip file).
     
    Last edited: Feb 4, 2018
  11. grlover

    grlover New Member

    Messages:
    24
    [​IMG]

    ok
    this is the preset.

    the Jump is the clean Split A
    the Grafitier is the Dirt Split B

    when a use the split b pan knob to the right the sound of the Grafitier go mute

    y put the split A all the way to the left (Pan A ) and the split b all the way to (pan B)
    but dont works

    everything i put on the split B sounds in the Left speaker.


    edit:
    I just realized that all the presets (with or without a splitter) do the same.
    the sound of the GR5 comes out only through the left speaker. that is normal?
    or should be heard by both?
     
    Last edited: Feb 4, 2018
  12. solger

    solger NI Product Owner

    Messages:
    3,874
    Does restarting Guitar Rig make any difference?

    Or maybe check the volume and mix sliders in the Preset Volume component. More info here: https://support.native-instruments.com/hc/en-us/articles/210275885

    Otherwise:
    • What's the model name of the speakers?
    • And where/how are the speakers connected?
     
    Last edited: Feb 4, 2018
  13. grlover

    grlover New Member

    Messages:
    24
    the speaker are regular 2.1 sistem

    [​IMG]

    the guitar was connected on the input 1 of the RK3
    the output i use is the "L" output of the RK3

    and then that cable goes straight to the line In of the computer
     
  14. solger

    solger NI Product Owner

    Messages:
    3,874
    For a stereo signal you need to use both RK3 outputs L and R (and if necessary connect them via an appropriate adapter or cable if the line-in is a single stereo input).
     
    Last edited: Feb 4, 2018
    • Like Like x 1
  15. grlover

    grlover New Member

    Messages:
    24
  16. solger

    solger NI Product Owner

    Messages:
    3,874
    • Like Like x 1
  17. grlover

    grlover New Member

    Messages:
    24
    ok i understand..
    thanks solger

    you are the best!!