Help Audio Drop Out W/ Traktor S4 Kontrol

Discussion in 'Technical Issues (Archive)' started by johnbonnerjnr, Nov 3, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. johnbonnerjnr

johnbonnerjnr Forum Member

Hi all could really do with some advice.
    I am new to the world of Traktor, i took the plunge last month selling my Technics & cdj1000's. (in fact I am new to forums of any sought)
    Paid for Traktor Kontrol S4 & new laptop with cash, I purchased my laptop using the optimum specifications detailed by Traktror for using S4. A Dell Studio 15” 500gb Hard Drive 7200sp, Pentium i7 1.66Ghz which turbos to 2. something , 4gb Ram, 1gb graphics card (not sharded)
    When I set up Traktor I was learning for the first time terms such as latency, buffer & audio drop out, so please help me here if I am way of the mark
    I was getting audio drop at least once a track / mix (it would either just be a crackle / hiss or drop in music lasting a second no longer probably shorter in fact).
    I have tried my best to research this myself with the manual & web site & followed the instructions below.
    I have increased the buffer to its maximum just over 500, which I believe means the latency is at its highest? That’s the only way to change the latency? I just don’t know?
    I have put power setting on the most advance power useage going, I disabled the network device, I turned the processing power management up to 100% in both minimum & maximum, made the USB ports didn’t go idle (I know my tech terms aren’t the best, but I am new to this), tried laptop plugged in & unplugged.
    I am still getting drop outs at least once a track / mix, I am absolutely gutted wish I’d never gone digital.