How can I improve my knowledge about broken beat making (hip hop, trip hop, chill out, etc)?

Discussion in 'General Production Forum' started by Rabbitfrog, Mar 1, 2021.

1. Rabbitfrog

Rabbitfrog NI Product Owner

So for many, many years I have been listening to trance and techno. So 4/4 is how I rolled. Slowly I have been leaning more towards chill out ambient, trip hop and other downbeat music. I am eager to create it, but I have no background in it and I have been listening to for not a very long time.

I understand the logic behind it, I know what broken beat is, I know what syncopated rhythm is. The problem is I can't "read" drums. So let's say I am looking for on how to make a trip hop beat. So I find it's at 70 BPM in a KICK ... KICK SNARE ... KICK KICK KICK ... KICK SNARE pattern. Then I get to the point where I cannot make anything besides that pattern. I try to listen to other music, I recreate the beat sort of and it's the same result. So basically because I have been listening to the same 4/4 drum pattern, even if I learn one broken beat pattern I end up repeating it over and over. Even moving the drums slightly adds no flavor.

I looked around at drumming books, but there is a ton out there, like 100 hundred come up and they are all good apparently. So I am looking for anything that can help in the genres I mentioned, so maybe it's blues, jazz, bop. I honestly don't know. I looked at Funk, but it seems to be more focused on higher BPMs tracks and works really well for jungle/drum and bass tracks. Looking for anything really, searching at Google brings up pretty shallow articles that only mention one or two patterns.

Or perhaps the easiest way is to grab a bunch of loops, repeat and slice them to really get creative?

2. JesterMgee

JesterMgee NI Product Owner