Using Maschine 2 as a main "DAW"?

WonkyFresh
WonkyFresh Member Posts: 11 Member

So, I've been using only Maschine for a couple of years now to make music. Would you recommend to use Ableton/FL Studio/other DAWs for finalizing my songs? How much can you really improve the sound and and final mix on Maschine compared to other production programs? Sometimes mixing and using plugins doesn't get me to results I want, so I'm often thinking if I'm even able to make my songs sound better on Maschine? 😐️

Comments

• DeepThumb
    DeepThumb Member Posts: 170 Advisor

Hi, I would start with the question: What am I missing in Maschine? Why do I think that my songs could be better or faster finalized using a DAW?

Some very experienced musicians and producers told me that in the beginning they had created hyper complex routings between Maschine, other tools and their DAW and thus spend hours and days not making music.

After some years now they just export what they want from Maschine as simple audio files and import them in their DAW (if at all...).

Well, there are some fancy soft synths and sound mangling tools that don't run (or not yet) as a VST3 in Maschine. On the other hand every DAW requires days of intense learning.

• D-One
    D-One Moderator Posts: 2,811 mod
    edited February 2022

@DeepThumb has a super valid point on his first question, that's what I would ask myself as well. The point on people eventually just settling on exporting audio is also what I see the most, mostly because it's the most practical approach altho possibly destructive depending on what you will do later to the exported audio, it somewhat can require committing to initial ideas.