1. Please do not install macOS 10.15 Catalina yet, as Native Instruments software and hardware products are not supported under macOS 10.15 yet. For more info, please go HERE!
    Dismiss Notice

Kontakt 5.8.1: certain factory instruments are receiving from all MIDI channels by default

Discussion in 'KONTAKT' started by DMalley, Jul 11, 2018.

1. DMalley

DMalley New Member

I'm on Windows 10 using Cakewalk (BandLab edition, version 24.04.1), although I've also reproduced the issue in Reaper 5.92 so I don't think it's DAW-specific.

Ever since updating to Kontakt 5.8.1, I've noticed certain factory instruments - all of them percussion - will receive from all MIDI channels when you first add them to the sampler, much as though they were set to receive from MIDI omni instead of a specific channel. Some examples include the Central Stage Kit, the Suburban Kit, and the Bongos. I've been using these instruments for many years and they've never behaved this way by default. Right after updating, I loaded a bunch of the working files for my current project and noticed they were all playing tons of random percussion notes - this turned out to be the cause.

Some further info: all the instruments I've seen this happen with show their input MIDI channels in the instruments pane as "1 + Groups", "2 + Groups" etc. I found I can work around the issue by going to the Group Editor -> Edit All Groups -> and then changing the MIDI port in the Source section from "omni" to "MIDI: default". But I'd rather not go back through dozens of my old projects to make this change on every instrument that presents this problem, and it seems like a strange step to have to take in order to have these instruments behave as they used to.