Kontakt 7; missing pianos - installation issues

Discussion in 'Discontinued Products' started by svemir1, Jan 5, 2018.

  1. svemir1

    svemir1 New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Hi all! Wishing you all the best in 2018 :)

    So I've got Komplete 7 a few days ago, installed it, loving it so far.
    The thing is, in the installation it prompted me to insert the Komplete 8 Ultimate disc a few times. I was like, whaaat..
    Then I clicked cancel to stop the installation, surprisingly the installation continued as planned.. or so I thought.

    I found out that a number of things are missing, like the New York and Berlin grands. Possibly some more things but I'm not sure since I'm still getting to know the product and workflow - and there were more then two times the "insert Komplete 8 Ultimate" thing happened.

    I found this thread and tried to install just the pianos, but it told me the same K8U thing and skipped their installation. I'm confused and don't know what to do. Help me out please!
     
  2. solger

    solger NI Product Owner

    Messages:
    3,892
    • Did you get an unused/unopened copy of Komplete 7 (with a serial number)? Or a second hand copy with a Transfer-ID (provided from the previous owner)?
    • How or where did you activate Komplete 7?
    • And what steps did you do exactly for starting and running the installation process?
    • Do you own any other Komplete products (besides Komplete 7)?
    So did you try to download and install from the K7 disc images, as mentioned here?: https://support.native-instruments.com/hc/en-us/articles/209550109-Which-KOMPLETE-7-DVDs-Are-Required-to-Install-a-Particular-NI-Product-

    Or how exactly did you try to do the install in this case?
     
    Last edited: Jan 5, 2018
  3. svemir1

    svemir1 New Member

    Messages:
    4
    - Second hand, original DVDs, serial number & transfer ID
    - Not sure if I activated via NA or SC. I had NA installed before installin Komplete 7 tho. The problem of "Insert Komplete 8 Ultimate" was there before activation.
    - Put DVD in computer, clicked on setup, activated, transfered ID.
    - No other Komplete products. Just Phasis and Traktor 2

    I didn't, since I had the DVDs. It offers to install the missing content but cuz I don't have Komplete 8 Ultimate disks I couldn't install them.
    The thread told me just to try installing the specific content that was missing and how to do it.
     
  4. solger

    solger NI Product Owner

    Messages:
    3,892
    If the install discs are indeed all original Komplete 7 DVDs, it's very strange that the setup is asking for a Komplete 8 Ultimate disc ...

    Does it show somewhere which of the products the setup currently wants to install when the 'insert K8 Ultimate disc' prompt shows up?
    Or what happens when you try to insert the appropriate K7 DVD for this product (which the setup wants to install) according to this list https://support.native-instruments....Required-to-Install-a-Particular-NI-Product-?


    When you go to the My Products and Serials section in your account, does it show any Komplete 7 related download links in the list?: https://support.native-instruments....29-What-Is-a-Native-Instruments-User-Account-

    And since you also mentioned you have a Transfer-ID: do any of the missing products show up in the [Not Installed]-Tab in Native Acccess? https://support.native-instruments....port-a-License-Transfer-ID-to-your-NI-Account
     
    Last edited: Jan 5, 2018
  5. svemir1

    svemir1 New Member

    Messages:
    4
    I took some screenshots. (there's more I think but I didn't run the whole installation, just the ones in pic Screen3.)
    Also Guitar Rig seems weird, is it supposed to be like that? I can't click anything or load anything.

    Also you can see the prompts and the Not-installed part. A KOMPLETE 7 licence is shown in the Products and Serials part.

    I'm leaning to uninstall everything NI and reinstall if there is no other solution.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. solger

    solger NI Product Owner

    Messages:
    3,892
    As you can see in this list, most of the Library install files are placed on different K7 Install Discs (so it's required to switch DVDs during the install): https://support.native-instruments....Required-to-Install-a-Particular-NI-Product-?

    So what happens when you insert the K7 disc H (which holds the NY Grand Library install files) for "Installing New York Concert Grand" (screenshot 4) and then press [OK]?

    Or in case of the other products:
    • K7 Disc H for "Installing Upright Piano" (screenshot 6)
    • K7 Disc I for "Installing Berlin Concert Grand" (screenshot 7)
    • K7 Disc F for "Installing Abbey Road 60s Drums" (screenshot 8)

    And in screenshot 3: have you also already tried to select only a single product for installation (for instance only selecting 'New York Grand')?
    I don't use Cubase, but did you insert Guitar Rig as an Audio Insert Effect (since GR is an Audio Effect and not an Instrument)?
    More info in the second section Inserting a NI Plug-in as Insert Effect found at the bottom half of the article: https://support.native-instruments....-Insert-Native-Instruments-Plug-ins-in-Cubase

    In addition, the general recommendation is to launch all products (Guitar Rig, Kontakt, etc.) as Standalone first once (for initialization of the database, etc.) before using the plugin version.


    If the install problem persists, try to contact NI Support about this directly. Contacting them via phone (numbers can be found at the bottom in the link) is usually the faster option: https://www.native-instruments.com/en/company/contact-ni/
     
    Last edited: Jan 6, 2018
  7. svemir1

    svemir1 New Member

    Messages:
    4
    This worked. Thanks!
     
  8. solger

    solger NI Product Owner

    Messages:
    3,892
    Great :)

    As a side note: it's really strange though that these dialogs don't show the correct 'Insert Disc' messages (which can be really confusing) ...
     
    Last edited: Jan 9, 2018