1. Please do not install macOS 10.15 Catalina yet, as Native Instruments software and hardware products are not supported under macOS 10.15 yet. For more info, please go HERE!
    Dismiss Notice

Linear arrangement option

Discussion in 'Feature Request Archive' started by machineboy, Jul 2, 2014.

1. machineboy

machineboy NI Product Owner

I'm new to maschine but having used all kind of recording options from tape to DAWs via hexadecimal music editors, I think that maschine has some workflow issues to work out.

It excels at strict groove-based loop production, but once you want longer segments that overlap and flow over and into each other, things start to get hairy, quickly. The organic feel of music making is where maschine falls short.

I really want a scene-free, linear arrangement option. To be able to put any pattern anywhere and have track-based automation would really open up the musical possibilities. Right now, for my kind of music, it feels very limiting and I constantly have to work around the limitations. When you're in a creative mindframe it's not fun constantly duplicating patterns, lenghtening them to fit other parts without sounding repetitive and fitting them into scenes. Too many patterns, too many scenes, too much work!

I know running it in a DAW could mitigate some of these problems, but I really want Maschine to evolve into a more feature-filled music creation tool, loosening up the strict pattern-scenes workflow.

• Like Like x 6
  2. cdash7

cdash7 New Member

I completely agree. . . Maschine would MURDER with a Scene/pattern mode AND a scene free linear arrangement option for tracks and automation.

3. Mystic38

Mystic38 NI Product Owner

This is quite possibly the 100th thread with the same topic..............

• Like Like x 2
  4. machineboy

machineboy NI Product Owner

Well, at least there are a hundred people wanting this feature then :)

5. JokeY1993

JokeY1993 NI Product Owner