Microtonal piano possible?

Discussion in 'General Chat' started by Musicisgood, Oct 21, 2018.

1. Musicisgood

Musicisgood New Member

I'm thinking of buying Komplete 12, and wondering if it is possible to set the temperament of the pianos. For example, for Una Corda, are there options of what tunings to use, such as meantone, just intonation in whichever key, and so on? And, possible to create ones own temperament by specifying cent values for example?

If not, then is there some work around in order to be able to do this? And, also for other NI instruments?

I'm using Reaper on a Macbook Pro.

Thanks!

2. Paule

Paule NI Product Owner

3. Musicisgood

Musicisgood New Member

Oh, does that mean there is no way of tuning NI pianos without buying extra things, like Reaktor?

And, if in Reaktor, is there any video or set of instructions available to lead me through how to do that? I am totally new to all this computer music stuff. I'm an acoustic musician really! Thanks!

4. Musicisgood

Musicisgood New Member

Also, I just found this page:
    https://support.native-instruments....y-KONTAKT-Piano-Instrument-Sounds-Out-of-Tune

It shows that different temperaments can be selected - Pythagorean, Meantone (which they write with two separate words, I have no idea why), Werckmeister, and so on. Unfortunately,
    1) I see no option of creating ones own temperament (this should be a no-brainer to add), and
    2) It says "This applies to the following KONTAKT Instruments from the CLASSIC PIANO COLLECTION: BERLIN CONCERT GRAND, NEW YORK CONCERT GRAND, VIENNA CONCERT GRAND and UPRIGHT PIANO."
    I'm specifically interested in doing this with Una Corda; The Giant; and stringed instruments such as violins. Can anyone confirm if this functionality is available in these as well, because that page implies that that cannot be done with those two pianos.