1. Please do not install macOS 10.15 Catalina yet, as Native Instruments software and hardware products are not supported under macOS 10.15 yet. For more info, please go HERE!
    Dismiss Notice

MIDI Programme Change

Discussion in 'KONTAKT' started by cptpfeffer, Nov 24, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. cptpfeffer

    cptpfeffer NI Product Owner

    Messages:
    1
    Hi everybody,

    is there any chance of changing an instrument *.nki in Kontakt, by using a MIDI Programm Change Command?
    In my live setup, I only have 1 Midi Channel left for kontakt, but I need more sounds from it during a song. I would like to change them via a button on my MIDI Masterkeyboard.

    ????????????

    Greets
    Bernd
    www.8rbeat.de
     
  2. liv

    liv NI Product Owner

    Messages:
    727
    Nope. You cannot change presets via pgm change.
     
  3. Cyril Blanc

    Cyril Blanc NI Product Owner

    Messages:
    670
    ...

    On Nov 24, 2004, at 1:28 PM, Native Instruments forum wrote:

    It is not possible in Kontakt it self

    BUT

    if you use Logic audio you can simulate a program change using the
    environment
    if you look at http://groups.yahoo.com/group/qlso in the file section
    there is file called machine.... . pdf
    depending of a program change either you change articulation either you
    change midi channel

    Best regards

    Cyril

    My Mails are filtered by the SPAM engine of Wanadoo.
    SPAMMERS you can remove all the @Wanadoo addresses for you SPAM
    Join the independent Quantum Leap Symphony orchestra forum (QLSO) for
    Mac http://groups.yahoo.com/group/qlso
    A6 Andromeda forum :  http://groups.yahoo.com/group/A6_andromeda
    Petition :  “Support of the APPLE LaserWriter 300 in MAC OS X”
    http://www.PetitionOnline.com/Ap1c1/petition.html
     
  4. HAL6000

    HAL6000 NI Product Owner

    Messages:
    32
    Is there a reason not to support midi program changes? I bought EWSQL to re-record some things, but the player which came with the lib is a pain. Due to the lack of program changes I cannot use the lib with Sibelius. It´s unrealistic and worldly innocent to use a separate channel for each articulation.

    I´m completely dissapointed. Is it possible to change the format to Giga?

    I need HELP!

    regards
    rolf.
     
  5. Cyril Blanc

    Cyril Blanc NI Product Owner

    Messages:
    670
    ...

    On Dec 1, 2004, at 12:08 PM, Native Instruments forum wrote:

    Today I have build an Orchestral environment in Logic Pro 7 so I have a
    full orchestra with most of the major articulation under my finger tips
    (about 12 per instrument)*. This song have 5 instance of Kontakt for
    major kind of instruments (String, wind, brass, percussion various ),
    most of the slot are used and it takes 10 minutes to load


    you can visit the file section of : the independent Quantum Leap
    Symphony orchestra forum (QLSO) for Mac
    http://groups.yahoo.com/group/qlso to see part of the environment I
    have build
    it"s a file called "Usine... .pdf" and see how you change articulation
    in Logic audio i( the file is called "how.pdf")



    Then you speak to Doug Rogers at East/west ant tell him to contact me
    so I can negotiate my work !



    Best regards

    Cyril

    My Mails are filtered by the SPAM engine of Wanadoo.
    SPAMMERS you can remove all the @Wanadoo addresses for you SPAM
    Join the independent Quantum Leap Symphony orchestra forum (QLSO) for
    Mac http://groups.yahoo.com/group/qlso
    A6 Andromeda forum :  http://groups.yahoo.com/group/A6_andromeda
    Petition :  “Support of the APPLE LaserWriter 300 in MAC OS X”
    http://www.PetitionOnline.com/Ap1c1/petition.html
     
  6. Haydn

    Haydn Forum Member

    Messages:
    220
    QLSO

    npr-music,

    What I do is use the keyswitched instruments. This allows you to change articulations without having to send program changes. This is how I use QLSO.

    The library will only work with the Kompakt player or the full version of Kontakt. The full version of Kontakt allows you to load 16 instruments in each instance. It still doesn't have program change capability.

    I used to be Giga user but now prefer using VSTi's inside of Sonar. Much easier to save and load everything in one project. Purchased Giga 3.0 but can't get the darn thing to work for more than a half hour before it crashes.
     
  7. HAL6000

    HAL6000 NI Product Owner

    Messages:
    32
    dear cyrilblanc, dear haydn,

    may thanks for your posts. unfortunately I do not live in the apple world, so I cannot use Logic. My idea is to write a little utility which maps program changes to channel changes (only 1-16). I feel that you can cover more than 90% of articulations for an instrument. am I wrong?

    regards from germany
    rolf.
     
  8. Cyril Blanc

    Cyril Blanc NI Product Owner

    Messages:
    670
    The Keyswitched program are a bit of a mess, it is not like VSL

    With VSL you have hat they call a "Basic" set
    In QLSO it is non consistant, some articulation are missing, they are not at the same place !

    I wish you good luck for your program
     
  9. Cyril Blanc

    Cyril Blanc NI Product Owner

    Messages:
    670
    THE solution :

    ------------------------------------

    Using program changes instead of key switches
    with QLSO and Kontakt and Logic

    1) What does it do :
    - Instead of entering articulation changes with a note you use a program changes
    - You do not have to remember the articulation names as they appear in the Logic instrument
    - The Score is not showing the Articulation notes (I hope that Emagic will allow soon to display program changes in the score)
    - Volume control (CC#7) is converted to CC#11 so you can control each instrument of the Kontakt multi
    - Pan (CC#10) is filtered so it does not change the panning of the Kontakt multi
    - GM program changes (Staccato,Legato and Pizz) are converted automatically to articulation changes
    - The demo version only includes the Solo violin and the Solo Cello, the full version include all the instruments of the orchestra (see at the end of the document in the zip file)

    You will find the file "ProgQLSO.zip" at : http://perso.wanadoo.fr/cyril.blanc/progqlso.zip
     
  10. Cyril Blanc

    Cyril Blanc NI Product Owner

    Messages:
    670
    Using program changes instead of key switches with QLSO and Logic

    Fresh News :

    Now there is a QSLO player and a Kontakt player of the demonstration version
    Each percussion instrument are mapped so you do not need to read the manual to find out the articulation you need

    What does it do :
    - Instead of entering articulation changes with a note you use a program changes
    - You do not have to remember the articulation names as they appear in the Logic instrument
    - The Score are not showing the Articulation notes
    - Volume control (CC#7) is converted to CC#11 so you can control each instrument of the Kontakt multi
    - Pan (CC#10) is filtered so it does not change the panning of the Kontakt multi
    - GM program changes (Staccato,Legato and Pizz) are converted automatically to articulation changes
    - The demo version only includes the Solo violin and the Solo Cello
    - The full version include all the instruments of the orchestra (see at the end of the manual)
    - The percussion are mapped so you do not need to read the manual to find out the articulation you need

    If you want to use the QLSO with the Kontakt player please download: http://perso.wanadoo.fr/cyril.blanc/progqlso.zip

    If you want to use the QLSO player (SO....) please download : http://perso.wanadoo.fr/cyril.blanc/progqlsokompakt.zip

    Try it and send me your comments
     
  11. HAL6000

    HAL6000 NI Product Owner

    Messages:
    32
    dear cyrilblanc,

    many thanks for your post. the web page is unavailable :-(

    thanks
    rolf.
     
  12. Cyril Blanc

    Cyril Blanc NI Product Owner

    Messages:
    670
    You just click on the link and it is downloading the file automaticly. (look in the download menu)

    Do you get an error message ?
    Can you make a screen hard copy and send it to me at blanc.cyril@wanadoo.fr

    Tanks

    Cyril
     
  13. Cyril Blanc

    Cyril Blanc NI Product Owner

    Messages:
    670
    Apparently other users have no problems for downloading the files ; look in the "download" of your Internet browser.

    A gold user got the message :

    "patch not compatible with program version! "

    Please find after my answer :

    --------------------------------------

    Hi

    I did not know that, what a shame !

    I have used QLSO Platinum to make the patches ! and I do not own "GOLD" neither "Silver" !!!!!!

    In the documentation you will find the list of the patches (in the trouble shooting section)

    What is very important is the midi mapping.

    So once you have load the multi with the good program you must set the midi chanels to :
    Instrument 1 set to midi 5
    Instrument 2 set to midi 6
    Instrument 3 set to midi 7
    Instrument 4 set to midi 10
    Instrument 5 set to midi 11
    Instrument 6 set to midi 3
    Instrument 7 set to midi 4

    You can say "what a mess" it is not as the demo version is part of the final version that includes all the programs for a full orchestra,

    I have just noticed a little bug, instrument 2 should be a "F" instrument not a "C" as it is now


    If you have more problems contact me directly at : Blanc.cyril@wanadoo.fr

    Sorry for this, as a Platinum owner I did not know this ; you learn every day !
    I have forward your mail to Native and to East West

    Best

    Cyril

    P.S.
    I am also planning to do a "C" and "S" version of the multi :) this for the ones that want to make 5.1 songs
     
  14. HAL6000

    HAL6000 NI Product Owner

    Messages:
    32
    hi cyril,

    many thanks. can I send you a mail directly?

    regards
    rolf.
     
  15. Cyril Blanc

    Cyril Blanc NI Product Owner

    Messages:
    670
  16. stephen22

    stephen22 Forum Member

    Messages:
    91
    If you want to change program by MIDI, make a separate group for each instrument, choose an unused cc and use Group Start Options in the Source module.

    - "Start on Controller"
    - assign your unused cc
    - "is between X and X" - where X is an arbitrary "program number" for this group.
    - Give a different program number to each group
    - control program change by your chosen cc

    Stephen
     
  17. HAL6000

    HAL6000 NI Product Owner

    Messages:
    32
    thanks! but what means "cc"?

    r.
     
  18. Cyril Blanc

    Cyril Blanc NI Product Owner

    Messages:
    670
    ...

    On Jan 5, 2005, at 7:08 AM, Native Instruments forum wrote:
    Control change ;-)

    Best regards

    Cyril

    My Mails are filtered by the SPAM engine of Wanadoo.
    SPAMMERS you can remove all the @Wanadoo addresses for you SPAM
    Join the independent Quantum Leap Symphony orchestra forum (QLSO) for
    Mac http://groups.yahoo.com/group/qlso
    A6 Andromeda forum :  http://groups.yahoo.com/group/A6_andromeda
     
  19. HAL6000

    HAL6000 NI Product Owner

    Messages:
    32
    Re: ...

    Control change ;-)

    Best regards

    -------------
    *urghs :)))

    r.
     
  20. stephen22

    stephen22 Forum Member

    Messages:
    91
    cc is continuous controller, used in the MIDI system to modify your sounds before or after you play them. There are 127, and many have standard functions eg #7 is volume, #1 modulation, #66 right pedal etc. Most are unused.
    If your set-up doesn't have any means of sending specific cc messages you're a bit stuck.
    Stephen
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.