1. Hi everyone,

Apple just released Logic Pro 10.5 for MacOS 10.15. We found out that Massive X, Crush Pack, Mod Pack, Replika, and Replika XT will crash.

Our teams are currently working on a fix, and we hope to have this out to you as soon as we can!

Best wishes, 
    The NI Team

Dismiss Notice

Modulate Frequency on ring modulator

Discussion in 'Building With Reaktor' started by BearClaw11, Mar 25, 2020.

1. BearClaw11

BearClaw11 NI Product Owner

Hi everyone,
    I would really appreciate it if someone could point me in the right direction, please.
    I have been trying to create a ring modulator to modulate incoming audio with a selectable oscillator. Everything has worked fine so far but I have hit a brick wall when trying to add an LFO to modulate the frequency of the oscillators. I have added an image of where I am now to help.
    Sorry if it is not correct I am very new to Reaktor.

Many Thanks
    Wayne

Attached Files:

2. colB

colB NI Product Owner

yes, this can be a sticky one.

The lfo will give you an output ranging from -1 to 1.
    However, the frequency of the oscillator doubles at each octave, so you can't just multiply your lfo output by some constant (say 10) then add it to the frequency, that might work nicely at one pitch, but not at another.
    So either you use the pitch input of the oscillators, then scale the lfo output and add it to the pitch... or do some conversion.
    In core there is a really useful macro called DP2FF (delta pitch to frequency factor), this converts a difference in pitch into a value you can multiply a frequency by to get the required change. So e.g. if the input is -12, the output will be 0.5, multiply the frequency by 0.5 and it's the same as an octave down or -12 semitones - magic :)
    There is no primary equivalent to this, but it's easy to wrap it in a core cell:
    dp2ff.PNG
    you can then multiply the output of the LFO by whatever you want to get the maximum modulation you need: