1. Please do not install macOS 10.15 Catalina yet, as Native Instruments software and hardware products are not supported under macOS 10.15 yet. For more info, please go HERE!
    Dismiss Notice

Monark Pitch Bend Range - Too limited

Discussion in 'Feature Suggestions' started by Mothershed, Nov 9, 2013.

1. Mothershed

Mothershed NI Product Owner

The new Monark synth sounds great, but what I really don't understand is the chosen pitch bend range on the back panel (B). The smallest interval seems to be a perfect 4th, and the largest is a major 6th, neither of which have much practical use, in my opinion. Perhaps there is a historical reference here that I am not aware of, but that does not change the practical implications of this limitation.

Please introduce the 2nd (two semi-tones) and the octave! These are actually useful intervals, and truly ad expressiveness to this otherwise great synth. Thanks NI!

• Like Like x 1
  2. TProd

TProd New Member

I'm new to Komplete and thus also to Monark, and as much as I was stunned by its sound I was also ver disappointed with the limited pitch bend range. Then... I found how to set it to an octave.

1) Go to the "B" page (representing possibly the "rear panel").
    2) Toggle Edit mode.
    3) Right-click the pitch bend range rotary knob and click to see its properties ("PB Range Properties").
    4) In the left -hand pane, click the FUNCTIONS tab.
    5) Under "Range", set Max to 12 and Min to -12.

After this, you can have an octave up an down. In fact it gets rather weird, if you turn the PB range know fully clockwise you can even get much larger intervals. You get an octave up or down when the know is turned to approximately 1 o'clock. But I noticed that after reloading the Logic project that container this instance of Monark, the know was turned fully clockwise and the range was exactly an octave up or down.