1. IMPORTANT:
    We launched a new online community and this space is now closed. This community will be available as a read-only resources until further notice.
    JOIN US HERE

NHL mapping expert questions

Discussion in 'KONTROL X1' started by Chardonnay, Oct 7, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Chardonnay

Chardonnay NI Product Owner

Hi there!

I strongly consider to buy one Kontrol X1. I am an experienced MIDI mapper but I am new to the NHL mode.

It would be great if one of the NHL experts out there could give me short answers to the following questions:

1.) Can the original NHL template shipped with the X1 be completely modified with the TP Controller Manager (not the NI Controller Editor)? I can use Modifiers and Macros in NHL mode as I would do in MIDI mode? Right?

2.) Is it possible to use NHL mode and MIDI mode with TP at the same time? That is: I switch to MIDI mode on the X1 and can use a completely different layer? Or is it necessary to (additionally) load another preset in the TP Controller Manager? The aim is to have four layers with one X1:

- NHL
    - NHL + Shift
    - MIDI
    - MIDI + Shift

And I switch between NHL and MIDI mode by simply pressing Shift + Hotcue?

3.) I guess that it is possible to define 8 additional layers in NHL mode by using all eight available Modifiers and assigning them to buttons in the well-known Modifier-Toggle mode. Right?

4.) The NI Controller Editor (not the TP Controller Manager) only allows me to change the MIDI CCs and Notes etc in MIDI mode. It is of no help for the NHL mode?

5.) With the NI Controller Editor, however, I could use different MIDI channels to define different mapping layers? But then I can use the MIDI mode only? Right?

Thanks a lot for answering these questions!

2. AZ Mills

AZ Mills NI Product Owner

This question in it's entirety is of interest to me as well. Thank you :)

3. Frace

Frace Forum Member

1: I think you can only edit the sent midi messages.