Questions to musicians, what do I need to learn in order to "know music" ?

Discussion in 'General Production Forum' started by Rabbitfrog, May 5, 2019.

1. Rabbitfrog

Rabbitfrog NI Product Owner

Sorry for the confusing title. My question is this: I am an amateur music producer. I use software and hardware to make techno music, I copy others and follow tutorials. I experiment with presets and synthesizers until something sounds cool. This is not my job, it's a hobby.

I do not know music, I do no play any instruments so I rely on samples and presets. I am ok with this (was ok with this). I know many producers and DJs also have no musical education, and it's awesome that they are able to do what they love just like that.

But now I want to actually know how music works. As a child I learned to play piano for about a year. So I know notes and what chords are, I know the layout of the piano and that's about it. Through much learning and reading when I first touched a DAW, I know what a key is and I usually let the software do the work and stay in key and pick the chords for me.

So yes it's very minimal knowledge and I wouldn't even call it that, it's just knowing that music exists. But I want to learn more. I want to hear a track and know what key it's in, I want to to be able to write musc and stay in that key, I want to know how to make chords progress so that they are all in key. I know it takes a long time to learn, but I think if I suppliment what I know about software with new music knowledge I can have a ton of fun.

The question is, where do I start, do I go back to learning the piano? Will it teach me everything I need to know? Or do I simply study music theory without learning any particular instrument?