1. We're currently conducting systematic tests with the release version of macOS 11 (Big Sur) in order to offer full compatibility of our products as soon as possible. You can find our latest compatibility status - here

Please note that although announced at the same time as macOS Big Sur, Apple Silicon processors are an independent release with separate compatibility concerns for NI products. Compatibility with macOS Big Sur will not yet ensure compatibility with Apple Silicon processors. At the moment, Native Instruments products are not supported on computers with Apple Silicon processors. Read more - here

Dismiss Notice

Scratch benefits EDM

Discussion in 'TRAKTOR PRO / TRAKTOR SCRATCH PRO' started by Sanderr, Sep 19, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Sanderr

Sanderr NI Product Owner

Hello,

I am a heavy Traktor Pro user and was just wondering about the benefits that Scratch Pro gives you. I spin Tech-House, Techno, Minimal etc. and don't have the need to be able to scratch like a hiphop DJ, but I still see a lot of people spinning EDM on traktor scratch. I was just curious if most of these are transferring or still used to vinyl because, if i'm correct, traktor scratch doesn't offer you more control than playing with an X1 for example (if you don't do scratching). Or is there anything else i'm forgetting here. Curious to know why you play on traktor scratch vs pro, please share!

2. Frace

Frace Forum Member

scratch pro only gives you the ability to use timecode control

i for one use timecode control because I don't really use loops or effects that much and it looks and is kinda boring just to hit sync

so mainly it's just entertainment for me and the crowd

many people think vinyl is the only good way to go, which is dumb, but i as richie hawtin said in the ni video: there's no point in letting the software do something for you if you don't use the time you get to do something else

3. Karlos Santos