Something similar to FX loop

Discussion in 'GUITAR RIG' started by ejmillan, Jan 15, 2020.

1. ejmillan

ejmillan NI Product Owner

I'm new to the subject of pedals, effects and so on, so little by little I'm learning more about this.
    So, even though it seems a bit stupid, I'll ask my question.
    Today I learned the advantages and utilities that an FX loop has in an amplifier, so I read the documentation of components in Guitar Rig and I didn't find something clear that could be like this.
    When this happens and I can't find what I'm looking for in the documentation, I directly experiment in GR.
    Then I drag a random amplifier and automatically the matched cabinet appears too. I then put a delay effect between the amp and the cabinet and the resulting sound is quite different from when I put the delay effect before the amp.
    [​IMG]
    Following this, can it be said that the power stage is in the cabinet and that placing the effects between the amp and the cabinet makes the same effect as an FX loop or is my guess simply foolish?

2. mr-es335

mr-es335 NI Product Owner

ejmillan,

With regards to you question, "...do you know anything about FX Loop on Guitar Rig? I received + 20 hits in the thread but nobody answers my question. maybe it's a very silly question?" ....firstly, no question is ever silly, and second, I know nothing of FX loops...so I will not be much assistance to you here.

Let us see what EvilDragon has to say on this topic.

3. EvilDragon

EvilDragon Moderator Moderator

FX loop is placed between a preamp and a poweramp in a guitar amplifier. In GR this is unfortunately not separated so you cannot have FX loops - the power amp part IS a part of the amplifier module. The cabinet is a separate module (which either uses convolution or filters) applied after the whole amp module (so after poweramp).

Sorry I have to disappoint here :(

4. ejmillan