SSL Keyboard Layout Compatibility

Discussion in 'TRAKTOR SCRATCH' started by djquartz, May 14, 2007.

  1. djquartz

    djquartz NI Product Owner

    Messages:
    5,321
    Now I'm not sure if all users noticed there is a SSL style hotkey file included on the Installation CD.

    This file has assignments that emulate the SSL layout in combination with some TS functions.

    However it's not 100% identical to the SSL layout.

    If you prefer the complete SSL keyboard layout, I kept my original SSL hotkey file.

    This file is a 98% carbon copy of the SSL keyboard layout.

    I did have a SSL user test this file.

    If anyone is interested, let me know.

    Here is the keymap:

    Key Action
    ctrl - L Locate the current track. This will highlight the track you most recently loaded.
    Pressing ctrl - L again will alternate between the tracks recently loaded on both decks. (not assigned)
    ctrl - R Reveal - the highlighted song is opened in a file browser. (Not assigned)
    ctrl - F Find - moves the cursor to the search box.
    ctrl - A Select all.
    ctrl - C Copy text in edit mode.
    ctrl - E Edit text.
    ctrl - V Paste text in edit mode.
    ctrl - X Cut text in edit mode.
    ctrl - Z Undo last track load. (Not assigned)
    shift - ctrl - up, shift - ctrl - down Move focus up / down through the library or crates.
    ctrl - P Analyze Track(s)
    ctrl - N Audio Recorded On/Off
    ctrl - O Preview Player.
    - or + Zoom the main waveform display.
    tab Alternate focus between decks.
    ctrl - del and
    ctrl - backspace
    Remove track from library, remove track from crate, delete crate (does not delete the file).
    ctrl - shift - / Toggle the input reverse switch (Versions 1.1.1 and higher)
    ESC Clear search string if searching
    Alt + F4 - Exit Traktor Scratch

    ctrl - left or shift - left Load the highlighted song to a deck. ctrl - right or shift - right
    ctrl - shift - left Load the track currently on one deck onto the other deck as well. ctrl - shift - right (Not assigned)
    ctrl - / Swap the two currently playing tracks from one deck to the other. ctrl - / (Coming soon)
    shift - alt - left shift - alt - right Unload the track from a deck. (shift - option - left or right on some Macs).
    ctrl - , (comma) Place a cue point. ctrl - . (period)
    1 2 3 4 5 Jump to cue points in track. (rel and int modes) 6 7 8 9 0
    F1 Switch deck to abs mode. F6
    F2 Switch deck to rel mode. F7
    F3 Switch deck to int mode. F8
    Q Play / pause reverse. A
    W Play / pause forward. S
    E Pitch down. D
    R Pitch up. F
    T Bend down. (rel and int modes) G
    Y Bend up. (rel and int modes) H
    U Censor. (rel and int modes) J (not assigned)
    I Go to temporary cue point. (rel and int modes) K
    O Set / adjust loop in-point. L
    P Set / adjust loop out-point. ;
    [ Loop on / off. '
    ctrl - [ Loop with jump. ctrl - '
    alt - Q Load previous track. alt - A
    alt - W Load next track. alt - S
    alt - E Rewind. (rel and int modes) alt - D
    alt - R Fast forward. (rel and int modes) alt - F
    ctrl - I Set temporary cue point. (rel and int modes) ctrl - K

    Please see all posts for updates and corrections.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Mar 10, 2008
  2. GarySan

    GarySan NI Product Owner

    Messages:
    136
    What is it, what is it made for?
    Can u explain it with "simple" words please? (still français, and words like "SSL style hotkey" is as untranslatable as "SSL keyboard layout").

    Thank u.
     
  3. Todd Konix

    Todd Konix NI Product Owner

    Messages:
    64
    It just means how SSL's keyboard shortcuts are laid out.

    qwertyuiop[ = left player functions
    asdfghjkl;' = right player functions
    1234567890 = cue points

    Quartz, I'd be interested in this.
     
  4. djquartz

    djquartz NI Product Owner

    Messages:
    5,321
    I have attached the file, I was away from home earlier.

    Feel free to give me feedback on it.
     
  5. djquartz

    djquartz NI Product Owner

    Messages:
    5,321
    It was noted the cue point assignment was not working properly, so I have updated the file so it works properly.

    Please let me know if there is a problem with the cue point assignment.

    Thanks.

    NOTE: There is a slight fault in how cue points are set in TS which might confuse people.

    I have forwarded this issue to the dev team and hopefully it can be corrected.
     
    Last edited: Mar 10, 2008
  6. djquartz

    djquartz NI Product Owner

    Messages:
    5,321
    I'm updating again. I reviewed the loop assignments and they didn't make sense currently. One of the deck assignments were reversed as well, oops!

    I'm changing them to reflect the key map list properly. Traktor works differently with loops.

    When you turn the loop mode on, it automatically sets the in a out points depending on the current loop size.

    I changed these mappings to be more logical.

    Deck A / B
    O / L = Increase Loop
    P / ; = Decrease Loop
    [ / ' = Loop On/Off

    BPM Tap:
    Ctrl + Spacebar = BPM tap for Deck A
    Ctrl + Alt + Spacebar = BPM tap for Deck B

    Now just to clarify this function.

    Does Loop with jump mean turn on loop and jump to temporary cue point?

    ...or does it mean jump to the next beat and loop?

    Test the current assignment Ctrl + [ and Ctrl + ' and let me know if it works properly in this version.

    Also note, Ctrl + 1,2,3,4 will change your detail panel pages.

    Ctrl + 5,6 will change your screen layout but hitting Ctrl + 1,2,3,4 will change to the default screen layout automatically.

    Ctrl + F1 - F10 will access your crates as normal.

    TAB switches focus from Deck A to B and vice versa. There is no focus for playlists or crates in TS, so this was the best option.

    Let me know if anything is broken, Thanks.
     
    Last edited: Mar 10, 2008
  7. djquartz

    djquartz NI Product Owner

    Messages:
    5,321
    The lastest hotkey file.

    Switch Input - Ctrl + Shift + /, set deck focus using TAB and press key combo to pass IN 1/2 or IN 3/4 to the line input on your mixer.

    *NOTE: This function won't be available until 1.1

    This will come in handy for users who don't have switchable phono channels on 2-channel mixers.
     
    Last edited: Mar 10, 2008
  8. djquartz

    djquartz NI Product Owner

    Messages:
    5,321
    Found a problem with the I & K assignments.

    They would cause the deck to pause instead of play from the instant cue point set.

    It's fixed in this file.
     
    Last edited: Mar 10, 2008
  9. dj_huck

    dj_huck NI Product Owner

    Messages:
    214
    thanks a lot quartz will use it some this weekend and let you know
    shane
     
  10. djquartz

    djquartz NI Product Owner

    Messages:
    5,321
    Cool, I have a v11 but I didn't upload it yet incase some things need to be added still.
     
  11. serafinthedj

    serafinthedj Forum Member

    Messages:
    44

    come again..?

    :( ..a little confuse here..
     
  12. djquartz

    djquartz NI Product Owner

    Messages:
    5,321
    Update:

    Changed the Loop jump assignment so it works as it should (Ctrl + [ / Ctrl + ')

    NOTE: Only works in Traktor 3.3 currently.

    Added:

    Ctrl + = , this will add a highlighted track(s) to the end of the Current Playlist (This is a not a SSL function)
     
    Last edited: Mar 10, 2008
  13. airfull

    airfull Forum Member

    Messages:
    30
  14. djquartz

    djquartz NI Product Owner

    Messages:
    5,321
    If you have a MacBook or MacBook pro, you could essentially use the keyboard overlay to correspond with the SSL hotkeys.

    This file was created to help SSL users or users who prefer the SSL keyboard layout.
     
  15. carlrenaud

    carlrenaud New Member

    Messages:
    14
    how am i supose to you use the add on traktor scratch ?
     
  16. djquartz

    djquartz NI Product Owner

    Messages:
    5,321
    Click on the track and press Ctrl and = , this will add it to the end of the Current Playlist.

    I'm still adding some functions, waiting for some answers.
     
  17. carlrenaud

    carlrenaud New Member

    Messages:
    14
    weirdly its says when i click on the download it cant not read the script thing
     
  18. djquartz

    djquartz NI Product Owner

    Messages:
    5,321
    Is it still doing this?
     
  19. carlrenaud

    carlrenaud New Member

    Messages:
    14
    layout

    yeah i got a mac book and i import the file in traktor scratch and doesnt do anything
     
  20. DJ Freshfluke

    DJ Freshfluke Traktor Mod Moderator

    Messages:
    26,757
    when you open the preferences, there is a section about hotkeys. in there you'll find a load button... ;)