Traktor 3 Pro plus D2 or X1 mkII

Discussion in 'KONTROL D2' started by Qwert19, Aug 15, 2019.

1. Qwert19

Qwert19 NI Product Owner

Just about ready to make a switch to Traktor 3 Pro from my current DJ software.
    I've never used Traktor before, but I am in awe of the Allen & Heath Xone 96, so I need help from the community here, so here is my Question:

Am I better off investing in a few D2's or should I not bother and stick with buying a few X1 mkII's. Are D2's not suited with use of TP3?

What are the cons I need to know?

I've been holding off buying for a year in hope of some new hardware in way of a D3 but had no luck and I cannot wait any longer ..

Thanks

2. Ryan0751

Ryan0751 NI Product Owner

I know this thread is a couple months old now... but I'll bite.

Both D2's and X1 MK2's work great in Traktor Pro 3.

You might have to dig to find some D2's given they were discontinued early last year. I recently bought a like-new pair off eBay for a good price but had kept my eye out for a while.

If you are really looking to dig into remix decks and maybe stems, and use the step sequence, the D2's are still great. The screens mean you can really just ignore your laptop for 95% of the time.

They are discontinued though... so while I anticipate they'll continue to work in updates for Traktor Pro, it's unclear what NI's plan is around Traktor DJ (which is supposed to be the new codebase moving forward).

The X1 MK2 is probably the best selling controller out there for traktor. They are very small and easy to pack up. They have nice functionality. You won't have the niceness of the D2 screens, however. The F1 has probably the most complete implementation of Remix decks of any controller.