Traktor S4 MK1 stutter (possible USB3.0 issue?)

Discussion in 'TRAKTOR PRO / TRAKTOR SCRATCH PRO' started by StutterLagGuy, Jul 26, 2018.

1. StutterLagGuy

StutterLagGuy New Member

Hello all! This is my first time posting here. I'm hoping somebody out there has some sort of experience with my issue and could lend some insight. I'm quite proud of my Google-fu, but after 40-50 hours of research I've just about hit my wit's end on this problem.

tl;dr (too long; didn't read): Moved to a new laptop; Traktor now has horrible latency spikes when talking with my S4 (anywhere between 2ms and 15ms latency). This only occurs when the S4 is connected to the laptop, however. The machine can handle any other task I throw at it, no matter how intensive, without breaking a sweat. I have a feeling, but cannot confirm yet, that it is due to USB 3.0 driver issues - but I don't have any 2.0 ports on my laptop, so I may be stuck.

I'm hoping that if I can solve this, I might be able to help assist others with similar issues. Onto the important information:

Laptop specs:
    • Asus Rog Strix GL702VSK
    • 12GB DDR4 RAM
    • Intel i7 7700HQ (2.80GHz)
    • GeForce GTX1070
    • Win10 x64 bit
    • Traktor 2.11.3 17 (currently running at an average of 500us latency, not counting spikes)

I have seen many, many topics in the 2012-2017 timeframe on this issue, and have tried most everything that I have come across in an attempt to get this under control. I'll link to various threads related to solution info where possible.

What I have tried:
    • Ran LatencyMon (showing 2000-15000µs DPC latency spikes from wdf01000.sys, but that's just a container driver, not the real culprit)
    • Downloaded Windows XPerf (Performace Analyzer) tracing tool (still finding my way around the results of my trace, though it also shows wdf01000.sys as the offender)
    • Updated BIOS to the latest version
    • Disabled UEFI network controller in BIOS