Traktor Z1 - Audio Cable Query

Discussion in 'KONTROL Z1' started by Han2000, Aug 16, 2013.

1. Han2000

Han2000 New Member

Hi,
    I'm a bit of a novice when it comes to the set-up side of things so bear with me. I've just taken receipt of a Z1 controller and intend on connecting it to my macbook and a standard music system with Aux functionality.

What cable do I need and should it connect to the Music systems headphone jack or the RCA ports at the back i.e. the red and white ports?

Thanks.

2. makar1

makar1 Forum Member

Believe it or not, your Z1 has RCA sockets at the back too.

3. Han2000

Han2000 New Member

Thanks, so would it be a 2 x RCA Phono to 2 x RCA Phono Cable Lead?

4. makar1

makar1 Forum Member

If you were connecting to a system that accepts RCA input then sure.

5. Han2000

Han2000 New Member

Thanks ill give it a go

6. Han2000

Han2000 New Member

OK, so managed to get an RCA to jack cable. RCA into the back of the Z1 and the Jack end into my music system and set to AUX, however nothing.

Can anybody tell me what my settings need to be in Traktor? I'm in output routing and have set my headphones to the ouput monitor and output master to the main left and right which im assuming is the music system. Still nothing coming out of the main speakers, can anybody help me pls?

Thanks.

7. Abebe

Abebe NI Product Owner

what is your music system?

8. Han2000

Han2000 New Member

its a Panasonic SA-PM30MD Stereo System

9. Abebe

Abebe NI Product Owner

Plug your Z1 to your laptop by using the USB cable provided by NI then it will light on, turn the cue vol and cue mix button to the centre on Z1 for your headphone. Select channel to 'Aux' using controls that allow you to switch between cd/tape/tuner/aux on your music system. For traktor pro 2.6.3 audio settings look at the images bellow!

Have a nice party! :)

Attached Files:

10. Han2000

Han2000 New Member

Thanks man, much appreciated. Thats exactly how i have it set-up but nothing.