Volume control assignment

Discussion in 'AKOUSTIK PIANO' started by electricfuzz, Jun 1, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. electricfuzz

electricfuzz New Member

I'm fairly new at midi in general so bare with me, I own an M-audio axiom 61 midi controller keyboard. I use VSTi's for live performances and am looking to replace my piano sound with something considerably better (currently using Cakewalk's TTS-1). I am trying out NI Acoustik Piano but can not seem to get my midi controller to control the volume. I'll admit that I do not fully understand midi controller assignment nor do I fully know how to program my Axiom keyboard, but with all other VSTi's I have used, the volume has already defaulted to what ever default my controller is set to (to put it simply, my keyboard's volume fader has always controlled the volume by default on all the vsti's i have installed). I am having the same problem with Electrik Piano. Is there something real basic here that I have yet to discover?

2. geoelectro

geoelectro NI Product Owner

They both will respond to MIDI controller for volume. CC #7
    Are you running these programs stand alone or inside a host?

Geoelectro

3. electricfuzz

electricfuzz New Member

I'm running them in a host progam called forte by brainspawn. Apparently you can map all sorts of stuff using just forte but like i said, I'm kinda knew to all of this, i used to just play bass and harmonica. Thanks for the tip, I'll try it out when i get home! why is there no midi chart available for these synths or if there is where can i find it?

4. ew

ew Moderator Moderator

In AP's case, it's because the only controllers it recognizes are volume (7), pan (10), sustain (64) and sostenuto (65)- those are the standard MIDI controllers for those functions, so there's no real reason to document them.

ew

5. electricfuzz

electricfuzz New Member