1. Please do not install macOS 10.15 Catalina yet, as Native Instruments software and hardware products are not supported under macOS 10.15 yet. For more info, please go HERE!
    Dismiss Notice

Solved Will my macbook handle Komplete 11 and Logic Pro?

Discussion in 'Computer Technology and Setup' started by juxtpose, Jan 29, 2018.

1. juxtpose

juxtpose New Member

Hello, I have some questions before I buy Komplete 11 Ultimate Upgrade. I have an early 2015 Macbook Pro Retina 13'' 8gb HD, 121 gb flash storage. I have been using Logic Pro X on this computer for a couple years, and have only 5 gigs of flash storage left due to the sound library mostly.

Will I be able to run Komplete 11 Ultimate Upgrade via external HDD (USB 3.0) without running out of space? I am not very tech savvy, and have tried to find answers to this but am getting mixed messages.

Also, I have found someone that says that I can move Logic Pro to an external HD by using some downloaded program called "SymbolicLinker". Has anyone heard of this, and if so, is it safe?

Thanks to anyone that can answer any of my questions.

2. D-One

D-One Moderator Moderator

Same laptop as me, everything works fine for me, no issues. You will need quite a bit of free space on your internal HD to install Komplete (around 30GB) each product temporarily goes thru internal HD before being installed on the External HD.

Nop, dont do it. Running a heavy application from an external HD is a bad ideia. You wont save much space by doing so, Logic is only 2GB. You could however move any big Logic libraries you might have to the exernal HD.

3. juxtpose

juxtpose New Member

Thanks for the response! I just freed up over 20 GB using symbolic linker, moving the Apple loops, Logic and Garageband libraries to an external. Now hopefully I will have no problem installing Komplete (now I have 30 GB total free).

4. juxtpose

juxtpose New Member