is a ssd a must have for Kontakt samples?

Discussion in 'KONTAKT' started by garywilliamson1, Jan 27, 2015.

1. garywilliamson1

garywilliamson1 New Member

I put all samples on a separate HDD like advised by NI. It seems to work OK but kinda hangs sometimes. Thinking about returning it and getting a ssd drive. I'm a newbie to Kontakt so wondering what you guys are doing. Thanks for any responses!

2. UltimateOutsider

UltimateOutsider NI Product Owner

An internal 7200RPM SATA drive is capable of supporting multiple instances of Kontakt. Is that what you were using?

• Informative Informative x 1
  3. EvilDragon

EvilDragon Moderator Moderator

SSD is a great thing for sample libraries, especially big ones which need to stream a lot of samples. However, it's not always a necessity for regular-sized libraries.

4. garywilliamson1

I have the ultimate 10 library on an external Seagate 2tb usb 3 drive. Supposedly usb 3 is faster? It seems okay but Don't know if it'll be okay for the long haul. Reply

5. WoodlanderBeats

WoodlanderBeats New Member

USB 3 will definitely be faster so do that... In terms of SSD being 'good for big sample libraries' SSD is good for any circumstance - its just much more expensive - therefore not great on an average budget for the producer collecting TB's of samples... A standard HDD should be fine, what processor are you using? How much RAM is installed?

6. garywilliamson1

I have an i7, not the latest or greatest, and 16gb of RAM

7. UltimateOutsider

UltimateOutsider NI Product Owner

You'll only get USB 3 speeds if you plug into a USB 3 port (the ports are usually blue, or will be marked with an "SS" superpseed logo). Next, not all USB 3 implementations are the same; some computers are slower than others, and some actually have buggy implementations. And also, a lot of USB drives have really slow physical drive mechanisms; so even though the actual connection might be USB 3, the drive itself presents a bottleneck.