No support for Cubase when using the M32

Discussion in 'KOMPLETE KONTROL SERIES' started by darshie76, Mar 7, 2019.

1. darshie76

darshie76 NI Product Owner

Hi,
    I did connect my M32, expecting to use the various buttons and features in Cubase, but it seems that there is something wrong.

The keys works fine; but no button nor the 4d knob works. I can import KK into Cubase as instrument, and the browser works fine, but I have no control over the DAW at all. No play or record button, no knobs, nothing.

I am pretty new to the whole midi thing; is there something that I am missing? Do I need to set up Cubase 9.5 to support the keyboard? I thought that the keyboard would just work as long as I plug it; with all the major DAW. I also have logic and Garageband on OSX and neither work either.

2. DynaMaltee

DynaMaltee NI Product Owner

Hi, that's correct. The M32 transport control is not yet supported in Cubase. On the product page for M32 NI states that it will be implemented soon. Then you will be able to select it from the MIDI Controllers Menu in Cubase like it is already possible for the Komplete Kontrol S series and have play, rec, quantize, loop, etc. functionality from the keyboard. Unfortunately there's no date mentioned when this will be available.

3. darshie76

I am confused though; I saw a video of a user using an S series and it was able to work with Cubase, so why the M32 would not work with it? I assumed the M32 is using the same hardware as the S series, but in a different form factor.

So I have to assign controls via CC learn like I used to do with my other midi keyboard? I hope support for cubase will arrive soon; I can't just use my old mac pro with logic just to use the m32 functionalities :(

4. DynaMaltee