1. Hi everyone,

    Apple just released Logic Pro 10.5 for MacOS 10.15. We found out that Crush Pack, Mod Pack, Replika, and Replika XT will crash.

    Our teams are currently working on a fix, and we hope to have this out to you as soon as we can!

    Best wishes, 
    The NI Team

    Dismiss Notice

Roland mc 707 & 101 groovebox

Discussion in 'General Production Forum' started by ALDREAD, Sep 27, 2019.

  1. Falko Freund

    Falko Freund NI Product Owner

    Messages:
    21
    A template for Jam would be great...
     
    • Like Like x 1
  2. Falko Freund

    Falko Freund NI Product Owner

    Messages:
    21
    Thx a lot!
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. ALDREAD

    ALDREAD NI Product Owner

    Messages:
    4,778
    Ok I’ll do one ASAP
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. ALDREAD

    ALDREAD NI Product Owner

    Messages:
    4,778
    Could do a really good one for jam, faders could control volume and cut offs etc
    Could have a pad bank for scenes clips and notes for each track , what you got 707 or 101
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. Falko Freund

    Falko Freund NI Product Owner

    Messages:
    21
    Wow, great. A 707 :)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. ALDREAD

    ALDREAD NI Product Owner

    Messages:
    4,778
    The 707 template has 8 clip tracks midi 1-8 , 1 scene track midi 16
    It only has 4 tracks for notes , track 1 for drums the rest for notes , you can duplicate a page 4 more times to get the rest , then goto assign ( in controller editor) select pad 1 and hold shift and select pag 16 , so they all highlighted and change the midi channel to 5,6,7,8
    Roland have mapped the drums to 16 notes but skipped a couple in the scale , so the midi mode bank is all 16 drum sounds . If you use standard maschine you’ll be missing a couple of sounds.
    For normal instrument notes you don’t need midi mode , standard maschine controls the 707 and you can then use arp chords and scale .

    On the mc goto utility / midi and turn on everything, and shift and track turn on the midi settings.

    I’ve got a group I made for maschine with scene changes on slot 1 , clips on track 2-5 and then drums and some tones
    I’ll upload it ,
    If it doesn’t retain the routing, you just need to set - input - mikro / output - 707 and the midi channel
    On the clip and scene sound slot
     
    Last edited: Mar 27, 2020
    • Like Like x 2
  7. ALDREAD

    ALDREAD NI Product Owner

    Messages:
    4,778
     

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 1
  8. Falko Freund

    Falko Freund NI Product Owner

    Messages:
    21
    Thx again, I will try as fast as I can, but I have a lot of work at the moment, because of Corona... Best for you!
     
    • Like Like x 1
  9. ALDREAD

    ALDREAD NI Product Owner

    Messages:
    4,778
  10. ALDREAD

    ALDREAD NI Product Owner

    Messages:
    4,778
  11. ALDREAD

    ALDREAD NI Product Owner

    Messages:
    4,778
    here is a jam template and maschine group

    two pad banks for clip change - pad bank 1 - TRK 1-4 / pad bank 2 - TRK 5-8 (top to bottom 16 pads per track)

    bottom 8 buttons (transport) change scenes

    8 fader bank for track 1-8
    bank1-modulation
    bank2-cut-off
    bank3-resonance
    bank4-filter knob
    bank5-mod knob
    bank6-fx knob
    bank7-reverb send
    bank8-chorus send

    let me know if you'd rather have 8 controls for a track per page atm its 8 tracks per page , ill do another template , or if you want different midi cc , also remember you can assign different things to the filter, mod,fx knob on the 707.

    the encoder should have four pages , pan assigned to track 1-4. the meter should display for this , let me know ,because I've not got jam to test it .

    anybody want me to do a jam template for the 101 let me know , i can assign more things for the 101 as its only got 4 tracks
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Mar 22, 2020
    • Like Like x 1
  12. ALDREAD

    ALDREAD NI Product Owner

    Messages:
    4,778
    New update for the 707

    1.30 is released:

    Clip Chain Function Added
    MIDI Input/Output Functions Added
    Auto Channel Function Added
    Audio Insert Function Added
    Note Repeat Function Added
    SMF Import Function Added
    Display Method Added for Clip Mode
    Sample Edit Function Added
    Function Added to Edit WAV File Before Loading
    Step LFO Editor Added
    Note Utility Functions Added
    Motion Drawing Function Added
     
  13. ALDREAD

    ALDREAD NI Product Owner

    Messages:
    4,778
    New update for mc 101
    1.3

    https://www.roland.com/us/products/mc-101/downloads/

    UPDATE HISTORY
    [ Ver.1.30 ] APR 2020
    Additional Functions

    Clip Chain Function Added
    Added Functions for [C1] - [C4] Knobs
    Added Functions for CLIP MODE
    SMF Import Function Added
    MIDI Input/Output Functions Added
    Auto Channel Function Added
    Added Shortcuts
     
    Last edited: Apr 6, 2020
    • Like Like x 1
  14. ALDREAD

    ALDREAD NI Product Owner

    Messages:
    4,778
    As there is no manual atm for the 101 update

    Here’s something I just found

    Hold seq and > to duplicate
    Hold seq and < to half



    Nice update , liking 4 knobs for one track ( that was a pita before) and that we can now change the cc no for them , I should be able to control anything on my fantom and rec motion to its sequencer, which is really cool .
     
    • Like Like x 1
  15. Maddocks

    Maddocks NI Product Owner

    Messages:
    2
    Hi gang, I've just bought a second hand 101. I can't get the Sound button to light, do you think it's broken? It still works, although I find the control button section labelling confusing as nothing seems to happen unless I press Shift at the same time, or hold them down to assign a function to the knob. Is this normal behaviour? It's so hard to find any info an the manual is no help. Thanks.
     
  16. ALDREAD

    ALDREAD NI Product Owner

    Messages:
    4,778
    Replied to you at gearslutz
     
    • Like Like x 1
  17. Maddocks

    Maddocks NI Product Owner

    Messages:
    2
    awesome thanks :)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  18. ALDREAD

    ALDREAD NI Product Owner

    Messages:
    4,778
    • Like Like x 1
  19. ALDREAD

    ALDREAD NI Product Owner

    Messages:
    4,778
    You can use motion designer to control vst in maschine and record midi automation with nice curves to the automation lane .( not modulation)
    Eg select monark , in maschine , midi input mc 101 channel 1 ( make sure track 1 on the mc is set to 1 and cc tx is on etc )
    In monark select cutoff right click midi learn , move cutoff knob on mc101 to latch it , create some motion and it will then record into maschine whilst it’s looping when you arm record.

    To get round the 4 knob limitation, you can change the cc no for the knob
     
    Last edited: May 2, 2020
  20. ALDREAD

    ALDREAD NI Product Owner

    Messages:
    4,778
    Sold my keystep and have one of these in the post ,off eBay, to use with the 101 .
    https://www.roland.com/us/products/a-300pro/

    I’ll report back on how well it works , lots of assignable encoders/faders /pads/ buttons , so I should be able to control most of the sound editing with it , and launch scenes with the pads
     
    Last edited: May 3, 2020