Traktor Scratch CRASHES

Discussion in 'Technical Issues' started by darren-c, Aug 29, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. darren-c

darren-c Forum Member

I've used vinyl records to DJ with for four years professionally; it's only recently that I have made the full switch to digital, using my Laptop. Last month I began using Traktor Scratch as I have my own residency in London where my parties are 13+ hours long. I have guest DJs with their own equipment, but can sometimes DJ for 6 hours or more, so Tracktor seemed to be the answer. Unfortunately this is far from the case as it has procedded to freeze and crash on many occasions. Very dissapointing.

I have been using both PCs and Macs for well over 10 years now, but decided to use my Apple Macbook Pro for Traktor Scratch. I've followed all the instructions, including the optimisation section of the manual, and still Traktor Scratch crashes completely unexpectedly at any point during a session. It's happened five times now including last sunday (12.08.07) in front of 500 clubbers who were all up until that point having a great time dancing.... then sudden silence, laughing, boo-ing and the good old error message "Tracktor Scratch has unexpected quit". Worst of all, I cannot prompt a crash, there's no obvious reason for the sudden freeze, it just happens entirely at random.

The questions now are endless; Did I make a mistake buying this product? ...Should I have got Serato? ...Would Traktor be more stable on a PC? ...Should I do a clean slate installation? (No, all other apps work!) ...Is it this bug in the app? ...Will there ever be an update? I'm assuming this will be an iteration of the current software so will naturally be a free bug fix upgrade.

It's becoming painfully clear that i'm by no means the only person experiencing severe problems with the reletivly expensive software and I'm beggining to feel regretful that I didn't just go for Serato.